Open Accessibility Menu

Sara Simonson,PA-C

Primary Service
  • ENT (Ear, Nose, Throat)
Areas of Interest Assisting patients with understanding their disease process, conservative treatment, and in some cases a surgical course and postoperative care
  • Occupational Therapy, The College of St. Scholastica, Duluth, MN
  • Health Science, The College of St. Scholastica, Duluth, MN
  • Physician Assistant Studies University of Wisconsin, Madison, WI

Philosophy of care
Each patient is a unique human being who is formed by their own history, lifestyle and preferences. I believe in taking the time to actively listen to my patients in an attempt to truly understand their perspective and to provide personalized care.

Why Sara went into medicine
Prior to becoming a PA-C, I practiced as an occupational therapist for 7 years at St. Luke's, spending most of my time on the 8 West Inpatient Rehabilitation Unit. I have always had a special interest in the musculoskeletal system, but began to love neuro during my time as a therapist. I started to develop a desire to influence patient care in the initial stages of their injury or illness and guiding that care as a provider, but had also had a calling to serve our country. I returned to school to achieve these goals, which has afforded me the opportunity to work both in a neurosurgical practice and within the Army National Guard where I can utilize my primary care and preventative medicine skills directly caring for the men and women who protect our freedom.

Favorite advice to give to patients 
Knowledge is of utmost importance when making decisions about the care of your body. I empower my patient’s to ask questions and to be actively involved in their care through open ended dialogue and education by making myself available and spending the time to educate in all phases of care.

My parents were both active duty in the United States Air Force, so naturally we moved about every 4 years. I came to Duluth for my undergraduate degree and have lived here for longer than I have lived anywhere else in my life.

I spend a lot of time with my family outside, either at our family cabin or on Lake Superior. We enjoy hiking, kayaking, swimming and boating during the summer. I run for physical and mental fitness, challenging myself with the company of my mother to run Grandma’s Half Marathon annually. In the winter time, I like to ice fish, snowmobile and downhill/cross country ski.